Mobility Program

The mobility program funds short-term exchanges (STEs) to obtain specific knowledge. It aims to allow young researchers and PhD students close interaction with major researchers and leading scientific communities in the host organization. The exchange could be embedded in the frame of a P4L-Project or it could be independent. Possible goals are the transfer of knowledge on a specific technique or instrument, not available at the own lab. The fellows will participate in regular in-house discussions and seminars and contribute to the Photonics4Life effort in order to integrate scientific activities and dissemination across Europe

A guide to a successful Short Term Exchange (STE) in four easy steps

(click image for a larger version)

The typical duration of an exchange is one to four weeks. For each stay a joint proposal from the visitor and hosting institutions needs to be presented to an internal committee. The proposal includes a project summary about the interest of the stay. The application form can be found below. To submit an application form or for more information please send an email to

As a guideline, the typical amounts - including travel and subsistence - of the funding are

1 week = 500 €

2 weeks = 650 €

3 weeks = 800 €

4 weeks = 1.000 €

6 weeks = 1250 €

8 weeks = 1500 €

Depending on the specific circumstances, the grant committee can decide exceptional funding.

Before the STE

Download STE Application Form

Please download the blank-form. It can be filled out with Adobe Reader. Save it and send it back, together with all attachments to

After the STE

When the exchange is completed, a report on the results is to be prepared.

Download STE Report Form

Please send the report together with copies of your travel documentation (e.g. train/airplane tickets and hotel bill) to

Grant Committee

The grant committee for the P4L mobility program is constituted:

  • Vinod Subramanian (substitute: M. Bennink)
  • Roberto Pini
  • Heidi Ottevaere (substitute: Hugo Thienpont)
  • Kishan Dholakhia
  • Valery Tuchin
  • Katharina Svanberg (substitute: Niels Bendsoe)
  • Cornelia Denz